First Forge Update!

Friends and Family-

What a joy it is to begin this journey of the Forge with you all! As I have finished my first two weeks in Tyler, so often I think of YOU and how excited I am to share everything that the Lord is teaching me already. I am so thankful for your support and eagerness to share life with me right now (even if through a computer screen) 🙂

Our first two weeks have been spent in orientation-mode preparing us for this coming year! This has included a time of learning all the ins-and-outs of running a weekend retreat group at Pine Cove camps, being taught how to (successfully) cook for 27 hungry young people, being encouraged by Pine Cove’s CEO Mario Zandstra, and three intense, sweaty, 10 hour days of becoming ropes certified! We are trained to work all the ropes courses at the camps so we can serve all the year-long campers at retreats!

It has been long and at times crazy trying to adjust to life with a 27 person family- but truly a gift. As I’m learning more about each person here and their hearts I am humbled and thrilled to spend 8 months growing in the Lord beside them. We have spent time sharing life stories and am amazed at the sovereignty of God to lead each of us here- so much we share in common, but yet so much I am eager to learn and glean from my brothers and sisters here.

I have already been busy working weekend retreats! I am worked this past weekend at a mother-daughter weekend and then Monday afternoon began “real” Forge life of classes! A few things to look forward to are our Israel Prep class, Inductive Bible study class, our “Anvil” (guest) teacher, Leadership Theory Class and time with my Forge directors Cierra and Matt. SO much to be thankful for.

One thing is for sure- No time is wasted here at The Forge. We are kept on a rigorous schedule that will truly test us to our limits. What better way to spend this time, though? Together as a class we have already read 150 chapters of Scripture. By the end of the year we will have read most of the Bible twice. TWICE! My prayer is that His Word would become more alive and beautiful to me as each day passes.

This blog will be the easiest way for me to connect with each of you during this season as our schedule keeps us pretty busy! But I treasure text messages and phone calls so please reach out when you get the chance! A lot of what happens at the Forge is kept secret for the purpose of it remaining a surprise for future classes. Therefore, I will do my best to share this adventure with you as I share what the Lord is teaching me and  not always the setting of WHERE He is teaching me :). (I’ll be glad to reveal more in conversation, just can’t publish publicly :))

THANK YOU for taking time to catch up with me! I really do want to keep you as up-to-date as I can! Please, please call/text/email/write me any time! I am eager to share this journey with you!

Praise the Lord for:

-Our first two Covenant meetings. Time in prayer on our  knees and the Lord revealing our mission statement being centered around love, identity and healing.

-Each person God has brought here for this season!

A LOT of laughter.

  How you can be praying:

-For our community as we continue to pray and discuss our Covenant. That above all else we would bring glory to the Lord Jesus.

-We would come to love each other deeply. We would not be lazy in getting to know each other and spurring one another on to love and good deeds (Heb 10:24)

-My eyes would remain fixed on Jesus-The author and only perfecter of my faith.

All is Grace.

First day of class with my roommate, Natalie!

 

This entry was posted in journal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment